HACCP Food Safety Qualifications

Hazard Analysis & Critical Control Points (HACCP) is a preventive quality assurance system designed to provide high-level control and monitoring of food production and distribution process. HACCP is a widely accepted food safety management system which helps analyse and control potential biological, chemical, and physical hazards that may occur during production, distribution or consumption of food products. Supported by reputed agencies such as the US Department of Agriculture’s Food and Safety Inspection Service (FSIS) and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), HACCP helps to effectively prevent harmful contamination in food supply.

All food sector organisations must implement a food safety management system based on the Codex Principles of Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP). HACCP qualifications are suitable for food handlers and supervisors working in most catering and manufacturing operations. The knowledge gained will enable staff to understand the principles of HACCP and ensure the cost-effective implementation of their food safety management system. This will reduce the risk of food poisoning and food complaints and assist in the provision of a due diligence defence.

Current HACCP qualifications offered by HABC include the following:

  • Level 2 Award in HACCP for Catering
  • Level 2 Award in HACCP for Manufacturing
  • HABC Level 3 Award in HACCP for Food Manufacturing (QCF)
  • Level 3 Award in Supervising HACCP for Catering
  • Level 4 International Award in Managing HACCP for Catering
  • HABC Level 4 Award in HACCP Management for Food Manufacturing (QCF)

For more information on each of these levels, please click on the links below: